CFA Fellowships – Sponsored by Technipro-PulmoMed

Commencing in 2000, we are now in our 16th year of sponsoring this fellowship for Allied Health Professionals working in Cystic Fibrosis. It is open to Cystic Fibrosis nurses, physiotherapists, dietitians, social workers, psychologists, pharmacists and occupational therapists

 We renamed the scholarships in memory of Abbie Fennessy who lost her battle with Cystic Fibrosis in 2012. Abbie joined Technipro-PulmoMed in (Nov/Dec 2010) in her last year at university studying health science. Abbie worked with Technipro-PulmoMed for a few years and inspired every one of her colleagues. We wanted to acknowledge her spirited contribution to Cystic Fibrosis by naming the fellowships after her.


Cystic Fibrosis Australia is proud to announce the 2016 Abbie Fennessy Memorial Fellowship for Allied Health & Nursing.

The aim of the Fellowship is to improve the knowledge and skills of Allied Health & Nursing professionals working in cystic fibrosis care to benefit those who have cystic fibrosis. Technipro-PulmoMed remains committed to funding the award for the benefit of the CF community.

The award can be used for clinical research projects or professional development such as travel to leading international conferences to present and for guideline publications.  The Fellowship is open to Allied Health & Nursing professionals involved in the treatment or care of people with Cystic Fibrosis in Australia.  For more…

To apply for the Fellowship, please download the Application form and submit by COB on Thursday, 9th June 2016.

The winner will be announced on-line and at the Nurses Conference in August 2016.

To apply for the 2016 Fellowship, please apply directly with Cystic Fibrosis Australia.

Contact: Graham Gourlay
Telephone: 61 2 9889 5171

The winner for 2016 was announced at the Cystic Fibrosis Nurses Conference in Launceston on the 11th August.

The award was presented to Felicity Finlayson from the Cystic Fibrosis centre at the Alfred Hospital, at the Cystic Fibrosis Nurses Conference in Launceston on Thursday 11th August.

Congratulations to Felicity, and thank you to all those who applied for the 2016 fellowship.


The 2015 winners were announced at the 11th Australasian Cystic Fibrosis Conference in Sydney 15th – 18th August 2015.

The winners for 2015 are:

Jamie Wood
Jamie Wood is the Senior Physiotherapist for Cystic Fibrosis at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital in Perth and is a member of the Institute for Respiratory Health’s Cystic Fibrosis and Bronchiectasis Research Group. He is currently undertaking a PhD at Curtin University, investigating the integration of telehealth with cystic fibrosis care.

Awarded for “Telehealth in Cystic Fibrosis: Current practice and future directions.”

Pamela D’Sylva
Pamela D’Sylva is a Senior Respiratory Physiotherapist at Princess Margaret Hospital in Perth.  She has practised in the United States and Australia.  Pamela has over 20 years’ experience working with children and adolescents who have chronic lung disease, particularly cystic fibrosis. In 2012, Pamela conducted a pilot study investigating the tolerability of induced sputum in children with cystic fibrosis. This lead to her undertaking the clinical research project: Investigating the Accuracy of Induced Sputum in young children.  Pamela presented her findings at the North American Cystic Fibrosis Conference in October.

Awarded for “Investigating the accuracy of induced sputum for detecting lower airway Pathogens  in young children” Lead researcher.